Madhya Pradesh Lok Sabha Election 2019 Updates

Scheduled to happen in four phases Madhya Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections will begin on April 29th and happen till 19th of May. The state has 29 Lok Sabha

Scheduled to happen in four phases Madhya Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections will begin on April 29th and happen till 19th of May. The state has 29 Lok Sabha seats of which BJP holds 27 and INC holds 2. The state has three major parties contesting in the Elections, namely Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress (INC), Samajwadi Party, and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

The state had been a powerhouse of BJP for the past 25 years with the party winning a majority of 27 seats in 2014 Elections. Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party had announced a pre-poll alliance and UPA that had won just 2 seats in the previous elections is going at it alone.

Congress that had failed to establish a government in the state since 2003 had won recently in the 2018 elections and established a government under the leadership of Kamal Nath. The party had won 114 seats out of 230 while BJP won 109.

While it is well known that results of Assembly Elections do influence Lok Sabha Elections, the situation might be a bit different in MP. All the opinion polls that were done before and after the Assembly elections in MP suggest that BJP has an upper hand in the Lok Sabha polls. They also suggest that Congress might increase its seat share in the 2019 elections, but the results showed that the number would be limited to a single digit. Most of the polls done between January and April 2019 show a double-digit lead of BJP on Congress.

Madhya Pradesh has a total of 5.03 crore voters of which 2.6 crores are men and 2.4 crores are women. More than 17 lakh voters have newly registered among which voters between 18-19 group age are over 15 lakh. The state saw an 8 percentage increase in registered voters.

The battle between Congress’ senior leader Dig Vijay Singh and BJP’s Pragya Thakur in Bhopal is prominent this year. BJP’s Pragya Thakur is accused in 2008 Malegaon Blast Case and is in the news for her controversial comments on Babri Masjid Demolition.

Madhya Pradesh’s first phase general elections will be held along with the fourth phase of national schedule on April 29th. The districts that polling takes place in the state’s first phase are Sidhi, Shahdol, Jabalpur, Mandla, Balaghat, and Chhindwara. The second phase elections are scheduled on May 6th in Tikamgarh, Damoh, Khajuraho, Satna, Rewa, Hoshangabad, and Betul.

The third phase elections in the state are scheduled on 12th of May in Morena, Bhind, Gwalior, Guna, Sagar, Vidisha, Bhopal, and Rajgarh while the fourth phase will be on 19th of May in Dewas, Ujjain, Mandsour, Ratlam, Dhar, Indore, Khargone, and Khandwa.

Watch regular updates on Madhya Pradesh Lok Sabha Elections from anywhere in the world on YuppTV. Most of the Indian News channels on YuppTV can be watched for free from major countries like US, UK, Canada, Australia, Singapore, Malaysia, etc. Download the YuppTV App to watch all the Hindi News Channels Live on Smartphones, Smart Televisions and other internet enabled devices.