HomeEducation Blog

A Complete Guide about CheckPoint Certification – Overview and Career Paths

The CheckPoint certification helps professionals gain the required skills for various roles such as network and system administrators, engineers, secu

The CheckPoint certification helps professionals gain the required skills for various roles such as network and system administrators, engineers, security managers, analysts, etc. For the cyber security professionals, this certification holds ultimate worth. If you are also one of those security experts, willing to get a hike in the designation and salary, Check Point is something which can help you.

Check Point Certification: Who is it for?

In general, CheckPoint certification holders works with the technologies, such as firewalls, VPN firewall gateways, end-point security products, security of hardware or software solutions, etc. As Check Point has services related to information security, these professionals may also find good career scope in the fields like the implementation of security, planning of design, etc.

Main CheckPoint Certifications

  • CCSPA [Entry-level certificate – Checkpoint Certified Principles Associate]
  • CCSA [for security administrators]
  • CCSE [For intermediate-level security experts]
  • CCMSE [Expert-level Certification – Managed security expert]
  • CCSM [Master Level]

Tip: Concentrated studies and thorough CheckPoint Certification training can help you conquer these levels without any difficulty.

Basic details of the certification:

All the certification examinations of Check Point cost between $150 & $350. The exams are generally of 90 minutes. All the candidates pursuing the examination must have Pearson VUE account and Check Point user center account for accessing the examination.

Career scope of Check Point certification:

The CCSA certification and CCSE certifications are well-rewarded in IT security industry. Here are some of the popular names of the industries seeking professionals with different certifications:

  • Telecommunication
  • Cyber Security
  • Firewall
  • Networking
  • Cyber Threat Resistance
  • Gateway Manufacturing
  • Security Training
  • IT Risk Management

Is it required to undergo Training?

Experts suggest getting some personalized training for better preparation of the certification exams. The certification of Check Point last for 2 years and this is when the candidate should acquire the latest examination of that time.

Training for the Check Point certification:

The certification of Check Point requires the candidates to undertake some training sessions that can help them master various essentialities of the certification. There are different training programs, designed for different levels. For example:

  • You may take security awareness training for the CCSPA certification.
  • CCSA aspirants should go for R77.30 and CCSA R80
  • For those, who are planning to add CCSE to their resume, Core security expert training will help the most.
  • For the CCMSE and CCSM certifications, advanced level training will be required.

There are also free study materials and practice papers which are available for the candidates appearing for the certification. The individual study guides for the different courses of the certification is available on their distinguished certification web pages.

Detailed Overview of Different Check Point Certifications

  1. CCSPA

For clearing the certification successfully, the candidate needs to clear the examination of 115-110. This certification offer benefits to both the beginners and the experienced professionals.

For the beginners, this certification acts as a basic level credential and a path of progress. For the experienced professionals, it acts as a way to make their expertise look sound. There is no prerequisite for appearing in CCSPA.

Course contents are: Basic principles of network security, standards used in the industry, best practices to make the networks less vulnerable, selection of best technology among many and methods to create the digital environment secure.

  1. CCSA

It is the examination designed for professionals who are just entering in the field. It imparts basic knowledge for protecting the organization’s network from threats and vulnerabilities. The skills professionals develop are traffic and monitoring the connections, URL filtering, settings of anti-malware, more knowledge in firewalls, VPNs, etc. This CCSA certification has 2 examinations which are:

  • CCSA R77.30
  • CCSA R80

To achieve both the certification, the candidate just needs to clear only one exam. It is advisable by the experts in the industry that the candidates must take some training for 6 months to 1 year before appearing for the examination for clearing it in one attempt.

  1. CCSE

It is an intermediate credential in the certification. Its course usually focuses on the security gateway topics, management server, SmartReporter, SSL, better availability, VPN, smart event products and work flow in a smarter way. Candidates who have already given the examination for the CCSE certification can update it with time. In order to get a CCSE certification, the candidate must pass the exam of R77- 156-315.75. Candidate must be aware of conducting the advanced user management across the VPN, optimizing the performance of VPN, troubleshooting VPN, firewalls, servers, etc. in this certification.

  1. CCMSE

This advanced level certificate validates the skills of the candidate for their management expertise in the security domain. It focuses majorly on multi-domain security management and virtual system extension. Candidates who are participating in this certification should have knowledge of MDSM environment, firewalls, troubleshooting, virtual environments, etc. For passing this certification, candidates must pass the 156.820.77 and should also have the CCSE credentials.

  1. CCSM

This certification is the most advanced certification of Check Point. This certification is designed to validate the skills of the candidate for using advanced tools for troubleshooting, configuring and optimizing the Check Point security system. The IT professionals seeking this certification should have some years of experience and should be aware of troubleshooting ClusterXL and SecureXL.

For acquiring this certification successfully, the candidate needs to pass an examination of 156-115.77. Along with clearing the examination, the candidates must also have the CCSE credential successfully cleared.

Bonus Tip:

Security professionals are required to pass the CheckPoint Certification at the earliest if they want to succeed at a faster pace. To make this happen, a lot of hard work, proper guidance and good training are required.

Checkout Here more Technology blog & Education blogs.